Mini Review – milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

milk and honey by Rupi Kaur – Mini Review

 

Hey! šŸ™‚

I recently finished reading “milk and honey” By Rupi Kaur, which is a new york times bestseller poetry book. It`s filled up with poems and drawings, both by Rupi Kaur. And they`re all about different happenings in life, Rupi Kaur being her own inspiration. The book is parted into four different parts: the hurting, the loving, the breaking, the healing.

The introduction/deduction inside the book reads as followed:

“To the arms that hold me”

“my heart woke me crying last night
how can I help I begged
my heart said
write the book”

The book description reads as followed:

“This is the journey of
surviving through poetry
this is the blood sweat tears
of twenty-one years
this is my heart
in your hands
this is
the hurting
the loving
the breaking
the healing”

– Rupi Kaur

“milk and honey is a
collection of poetry about
love
loss
trauma
abuse
healing
and feminity
it is split into four chapters
each chapter serves a different purpose
deals with a different pain
heals a different heartache
milk and honey takes readers through
a journey of the most bitter moments in life
and finds sweetness in them
because there is sweetness everywhere
if you are just willing to look”

– about the book

Theres also a few words at the end of the book thanking the readers, which I thought was really sweet.

Rupi Kaur was born in India, but moved to Canada with her parents at the age of four, she`s now 24. She wrote this book because she wanted to help others who`ve been through things in life too, and this was the best way she knew how. When she was five her mother handed her a paintbrush and said – draw your heart out. She views her life as an exploration of that artistic journey. Her passion is expression, she just uses different mediums at different times to do so, she does photography, videography, spoken word and design as well as poetry and drawing. She is popular for using undercase letters in all her work with illustrations, all which she does herself.

I didn`t want to review this book too much because poetry is such a powerful, personal and vulnerable thing to share. I like Poetry and other forms of art because you can say and show so much with so little, and I find that extremely interesting and beautiful. As I mentioned earlier this book is parted into four parts, the part that I liked the most or that affected me the most was probably “the breaking”. It was the one I personally found most relatable, therefore it affected me stronger. When it comes to poetry and art everybody will take different views out of something, the same thing can be different in so many ways, and it also depends on what people have experienced during their life. The fact that something as personal and vulnerable like this can be shared, loved and be relatable for so many different people is beautiful. Something that seems so small is actullay extremely big and powerful.

I wanted to share Rupi Kaur`s work instead of breaking it down and reviewing it too much, her work with this book seems so important to me. Sometimes breaking down the art and exploring all of it can be a good and interesting thing to do, but this time I only wanted to share her work. Therefore I`ve decided to share a few of my favorite quotes and poems from each chapter and leave it at that šŸ™‚

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

the hurting:

“he was supposed to be
the first male love of your life
you still search for him
everywhere”

– father

“she was a rose
in the hands of those
who had no intention
of keeping her”

“you tell me to quiet down cause
my opinions make me less beautiful
but i was not made with a fire in my belly
so i could be put put
i was not made with a lightness on my tongue
so i could be easy to swallow
i was made heavy
half blade half silk
difficult to forget and not easy
for the mind to follow”

“i flinch when you touch me
i fear it is him”

the loving:

“you are the faint line
between faith and
blindly waiting”

– letter to my future lover

“he placed his hands
on my mind
before reaching
for my waist
my hips
or my lips
he didn`t call me
beautiful first
he called me
exquisite”

– how he touches me

“he says
i am sorry i am not an easy person to want
i look at him surprised
who said i wanted easy
i don`t crave easy
i crave goddamn difficult”

“the very thoughy of you
has my legs spread apart
like an easel with a canvas
begging for art”

the breaking:

“the next time you
have your coffee black
you`ll taste the bitter
state he left you in
it will make you weep
but you`ll never
stop drinking
you`d rather have the
darkest parts of him
than have nothing”

“i didn`t leave because
i stopped loving you
i left because the longer
i stayed the ledd
i loved myself”

“i am a museum full of art
but you had your eyes shut”

“you treat them like they
have a heart like yours
but not everyone can be as
soft and as tender
you don`t see the
person they are
you see the person
they have the potentional to be
you give an give till
they pull everything out of you
and leave you empty”

“neither of us is happy
but neither of us wants to leave
so we keep breaking one another
and calling it love”

the healing:

“the thing about writing is
i can`t tell if it`s healing
or destroying me”

“you tell me
i am not like most girls
and learn to kiss me with your eyes closed
something about the phrase – something about
how i have to be unlike the women
i call sisters in order to be wanted
makes me want to spit your tongue out
like i am supposed to be proud you picked me
as if i should be relieved you think
i am better than them”

“our backs
tell stories
no books have
the spine to
carry”

– women of color

“your body
is a museum
of natural disasters
can you grasp how
stunning that is”

“the goddess between your legs
makes mouths water”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I loved this book, it`s a 5 out 5, 10/10 would read again. Some of my favorite poems are from this book, I also feel really inspired by Rupi Kaur`s story. I recommend this to absoloutely everyone!

You can check out Rupi Kaur`s website here: https://www.rupikaur.com/

Thank you so much for dropping by to read this, I hope you enoyed! šŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Mini Review – milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

Leave a Reply

